admin/ July 28, 2016/ /

Sri Lanka National Netball Team in 10th Asian Senior Netball Championships – Bangkok, Thailand, 31st July to 7th August 2016


Sri Lanka National Netball Team will arrive in Bangkok to take part in the 10th Asian Senior Netball Championships is scheduled to take place from 31st July to 7th August 2016 in Thailand (National Stadium in Bangkok).

At the last Asian Netball Tournament held in Singapore (2014), ten teams took part and Singapore emerged champions with Sri Lanka as the runners-up. This year too ten teams are expected to take part in the event. They are: Singapore, Sri Lanka, Hong Kong, India, Japan, Vietnam, Malaysia, Brunei, Chinese Taipei and Myanmar.

In the competition which commenced in 1985 Sri Lanka has won the Asian Netball title on four occasions. They are: 1989, 1997, 2001 and 2009.

The events will be held at various times from 31st July to 7th August 2016 , and the team and accompanying officials would very much appreciate your presence and support at the games that they take part in.

Let’s support our National Netball Team!

Please find below the fixtures of The 10th Asian Senior Netball Championships


Date Time Game Group Fixtures Results
31st Jul
12.00pm 1 B Malaysia vs Japan
2.00pm Opening Ceremony
3.00pm 2 A Thailand vs Maldives
5.00pm 3 A Singapore vs Chinese Taipei
7.00pm 4 B Brunei vs Afghanistan
1st Aug
1.00pm 5 B Sri Lanka vs Afghanistan
3.00pm 6 A Singapore vs Thailand
5.00pm 7 A Chinese Taipei vs Hong Kong
7.00pm 8 B Japan vs Brunei
2nd Aug
1.00pm 9 A Chinese Taipei vs Thailand
3.00pm 10 A Hong Kong vs Maldives
5.00pm 11 B Malaysia vs Brunei
7.00pm 12 B Japan vs Sri Lanka
3rd Aug
1.00pm 13 A Maldives vs Chinese Taipei
3.00pm 14 B Japan vs Afghanistan
5.00pm 15 A Hong Kong vs Singapore
7.00pm 16 B Malaysia vs Sri Lanka
4th Aug
1.00pm 17 B Sri Lanka vs Brunei
3.00pm 18 A Maldives vs Singapore
5.00pm 19 A Thailand vs Hong Kong
7.00pm 20 B Afghanistan vs Malaysia
5th Aug
6th Aug
11.00am 21 Semi-Finals 5:8 Group A 3rd vs Group B 4th
1.00pm 22 Semi-Finals 5:8 Group B 3rd vs Group A 4th
3.00pm 23 Semi-Finals 1:4 Group A 1st vs Group B 2nd
5.00pm 24 Semi-Finals 1:4 Group B 1st vs Group A 2nd
7.00pm 25 9th vs 10th Group A 5th vs Group B 5th
7th Aug
10.00am 26 7th vs 8th Loser of Game 21 vs Loser of Game 22
12.00pm 27 5th vs 6th Winner of Game 21 vs Winner of Game 22
2.00pm 28 3rd vs 4th Loser of Game 23 vs Loser of Game 24
4.00pm 29 1st vs 2nd Winner of Game 23 vs Winner of Game 24
5.30pm Closing Ceremony